Pancake flippin’ teams announced

Cambridge MP Julian Huppert will be among the politicians taking part in an annual pancake race competing against a team of Lords and political correspondents.

The Rehab Parliamentary Pancake Race raises funds and awareness for the charity Rehab which helps transform the lives of people with disabilities and others who are marginalised.

Joining Mr Huppert will be Tracey Crouch, MP for Chatham and Aylesford; Martin Horwood, MP for Cheltenham and Cathy Jamieson, MP for Kilmarnock and Loudon.

The final members of the MPs team are Eastbourne MP Stephen Lloyd, Tim Loughton, MP for East Worthing and Shoreham; Tessa Munt MP for Wells; Edinburgh South MP Ian Murray, Jason McCartney, MP for Colne Valley, Stephen Pound, the MP for Ealing North and Edinburgh West MP Mike Crockart.

The MPs will be suitably attired in chefs’ hats and aprons and have to continuously flip pancakes in the relay race as they battle it out for the Magnificent Tin Cup.

They are up against, in the Lords team, Lord Addington, Lord Dubs, Lord Kennedy of Southwark, Lord Redesdale, Lord Rennard, Lord St John of Bletso, and Baroness Kramer.

The third team is drawn from political correspondents across the media including Nick Robinson from the BBC, Gary Gibbon from Channel 4, Sophy Ridge from Sky News and Patrick Wintour from the Guardian.

The race takes place in Victoria Tower Gardens, outside the Houses of Parliament, on Shrove Tuesday, February 12.

The participants will line up at 9.45am and will officially commence at 10.15am.